GSoC 2017 Acceptance

GSoC 2017 selected students list is out.
Happy to see my name on the list šŸ™‚

GSoC has been a dream in my second year of bachelor’s and it was the main reason that drove me to start learning computer programming. Starting with Mozilla FXOS, I have learned many skills and understood many open source organizations. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to GSoC 2015 and it was when many good and big organizations like Mozilla, Linux have been excluded from GSoC. And for the summer of 2016, I wanted an onsite internship and decided to not apply for GSoC 2016. But, I was really happy to see many new organizations that work on Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning are on the list for GSoC 2016. The onsite internship that I have done for summer 2016 was at Intelligent and Interactive Systems(IIS), University of Innsbruck, Austria and it’s on implementing a terrain traversability predictor with a monocular camera.

The current project for GSoC 2017 is a kind of continuation of the project that has been done at IIS. An overview of the GSoC 2017 project can be found here. The sub-organisation that I work for is Italian Mars Society under the mentorship of Karan Saxena. More information on the organization can be found here.

I would preserve further details for future posts šŸ˜›

Cheers šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

